Vertigo

Posted on Updated on

Ski season is back and the north shore mountains here in Vancouver are beckoning.

Came across this photo online this afternoon. It was taken by Paul Bednar, a ski instructor from the Skischule I taught with in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany.  I still remember the rush of fear and adrenalin I got as I looked over this cliff myself years ago.  Believe me, when I did it, I did not hang my ski tips over the cliff face.

Here’s the note he posted with the photo:

There was a t-bar at the top of the Zugspitze (elevation 2962m/9718 ft). Once you got off the lift, you could sidestep up another 50 metres or so to a small break in the rocks that formed the border between Germany and Austria. At that point, you could just stand there with your skis still on and look down the cliff face onto the town of Lermoos, Austria.

In other words, one slip and you’re in Austria, almost 3,000m below.

Note the very old-school Völkl’s.

Leave a Reply

